Scrolling Marquee with text links

Thursday, June 14, 2007

NHL awards perdiction

Tonight on Verus (CBC in Canada) at 7:30 will be the NHL Awards show. I am going to give my perdictions you can argue against them on the comments but you must give reason to why and who you have winning it.

The Hart Trophy is also the MVP (for his team) the finalist are Martin Brodeur, Roberto Luongo, and Sidney Crosby. I think Brodeur will take it home, he played in 78 out of 82 games as a goalie which is unheard of. He went 48-23 with 12 shotouts, 2.18 GAA, and .922 save percentage. This year was a down year for former BC Eagle Brian Gionita, Gomez was out a part of the season and Ellias was a no show down the stretch. I know Crosby had a great year but he also had alot of help with Malkin and Staal. Not to mention the great play of Fluery in net this year. Voters also tend to think younger players will have plenty of chances to win the award down the road.

For the Calder Trophy you have Jordan Staal, and Evgeni Malkin from Pittsburgh and Paul Stastny (brother of Yans the former Bruin) of Colorado. I think Malkin and Staal will steal votes away but when you look at the numbers Malkin was the leading scorer for all rookies. Don't forget he missed almost the whole first month due to being on the DL.

The denfensive forward of the year also called the Frank J. Selke award. You have Rod Brind'Amour of Carolina, Samuel Pahlsson of the Ducks (yea the guy the Bruins got in the Ray Bourque deal with Brian Rolston from Colorado) and Brulington's Jay Pandolfo for the Devils. I think Pandolfo's going to win the award, it might be a homer pick but remeber here's a guy who was the leading scorer when he played at BU his senior season.

Jack Adams the coach of the year award the finalist are Lindy Ruff of Buffalo, Michel Therrien Penguins, and Alain Vigneault Canucks. This is the hardest out of all of them all. I'm going to go with Vigneault even though he had Luongo. Marcus Nasuland had a down year, Nasuland's line of him Morrisson and Burtuzzi got broken up over the summer that landed Luongo.

James Norris is the defensemen of the year Chris Pronger and Scott Niedermayer of the Ducks, and Nicklas Lidstrom of the Red Wings. I think Pronger and Niedermayer steal votes from each other and Lidstrom never makes a mistake back their.

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy is given to sportsmanship and gentlemany conduct Joe Sakic of Colorado, Martin St.Louis of Tampa Bay, and Pavel Datsyuk of Detroit. Sakic has won this award several times and tonight will not change that. The past winter Olympics Steve Yzerman has always worn number 19 for team Canada and Sakic wears 19 for Colorado. When Sakic played for team Canada he wore 91, 19 backwards. He refused to wear 19 because he had so much respect for Yzerman and would not allow anyone else from team Canada to wear 19.

Lester B. Pearson award is given to the most outstanding player voted on by the NHLPA. The finalist were Vinny Lecavalier of the Lighting, Roberto Luongo of the Canucks, and Sidney Crosby of the Penguins. I think Crosby will win this award.

Vezina Trophy Roberto Luongo of the Canucks, Martin Broduer of the Devils, Mikka Kiprusoff of the Flames, and Henrik Lundquist of the Rangers. If you win the MVP and your a goalie you must win the Vezina too. Broduer

In bold are who I have winning


Post a Comment

<< Home

Free Website Counter